Award Winning Books

Looking for a new book to read? Here are some places to look for award-winning book ideas.

Caldecott Medal
Awarded to the artist of the most distinguished American picture book for children.
The Coretta Scott King Book Awards
Awarded to African American authors and illustrators for distinguished work.
Newbery Medal
Awarded to the author of the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children.
The Otter Award
Awarded for the best chapter books for readers transitioning to chapter books.
Pacific Northwest Young Reader's Choice Award
Students in grades 4-6 living in the Pacific Northwest may vote for their favorite book and see all of the previous winners.
Sasquatch Reading Award
Students in grades 4-8 in the state of Washington may vote for their favorite chapter book each year from a list of nominees.
Washington Children's Choice Picture Book Award
Students in grades K-3 in the state of Washington may vote for their favorite picture book each year.

The Alex Award
The Alex Awards are given to ten books written for adults that have special appeal to young adults, ages 12 through 18. The winning titles are selected from the previous year's publishing. The Alex Awards were first given annually beginning in 1998 and became an official ALA award in 2002.