Cascadia College

Student Justice Conference

The purpose of the Student Justice Conference is to build space for Northshore’s high school students to celebrate their intersectional identities, build community and collaborate with one another, grow their knowledge and understandings about various forms of justice, meet and work with educators and community partners, and learn more about various higher education opportunities.

Who

This conference is designed for Northshore School District high school students.

When & Where

Friday, March 25
9:45 a.m. - 2:15 p.m.
Cascadia College

Lunch and District transportation will be provided.
This will be an excused absence for all students who attend.

Program

During the conference, students will hear from keynote speaker Christopher Emdin, Ph.D.; attend two workshop sessions of their choice that will be led by community members; learn about higher education options, resources, and supports from UW Bothell and Cascadia College students and faculty; and have the opportunity to take a guided campus tour of UW Bothell and Cascadia. 

How to Attend

Permission packet signed by the parent or guardian is required, which includes a permission slip, photo release form, and dietary restriction form. Student should return completed packets to their counselor.

Due to limited venue capacity, there is space for 45 students from each comprehensive high school (North Creek, Bothell, Woodinville and Inglemoor) and 20 students from Innovation Lab, Secondary Academy for Success (SAS), Northshore Networks and Northshore Family Partnerships, Northshore Virtual Program. Conference registration is on a first-come, first-served basis. A student’s conference registration is not complete until their completed permission packet is submitted to their school’s point of contact. Your permission packet is due to your school’s point of contact by Friday, March 18. 

Download Permission Packet

Point of Contact

North Creek High School: Nancy Smith-Vela (nvela@nsd.org)
Bothell High School: Erin Person- students will need to drop off permission packets at counseling office front desk (eperson@nsd.org)
Inglemoor High School: Rebecca Faheem (rfaheem@nsd.org)
Woodinville High School: My Kiakotos (mkiakotos@nsd.org)
Innovation Lab High School: Jon Cohn (jcohn@nsd.org)
Secondary Academy for Success: Robert Morgan (rmorgan@nsd.org)
Northshore Virtual Program: Julie Brock (jbrock@nsd.org)
Northshore Networks, Northshore Family Partnership: Cameron Whitney (cwhitney@nsd.org)