Religious and Cultural Observances

The Northshore School District Religious and Cultural Observances Calendar serves to recognize and spread awareness about the religions and cultures that are represented in the District. This aims to expand the awareness about the multiple forms of diversity among our students and families, the days that students may not be at school due to religious observances, and the days that students may be fasting.

 

Religious Observances

Days of Highest Impact

Please avoid scheduling events or activities on the dates in bold and the evening prior to the date in bold if it is marked as SD (sun down). The rest of the dates are listed to acknowledge additional days of importance for Northshore student, staff, family, and community members. Expect some student observers to be out of school on all of the below dates.

This chart is representative of the Christian, Orthodox, Hindu, Jewish, Islamic, Baha’i, Buddhist, Sikh, and Neo Pagan religions.

Date

Observance Name

Religion

Notes

9/10/19 (Tues)

 

Ashura

Islamic

SD
Date not fixed, but often stays within 1 to 2 days of the date listed.

9/30/19 (Mon) - 10/1/19 (Tues)

 

Rosh Hashanah

Jewish

SD

10/9/19 (Wed)

 

Yom Kippur

Jewish

SD

10/27/19 (Sun)

Diwali

Hindu

 

10/29/19 (Tues)

Birth of the Bab

Baha’i

SD

12/23/19 (Mon)-12/30/19 (Mon)

Hanukkah

Jewish

SD

During Winter Break.

12/24/19 (Tues)

Christmas Eve

Christian

During Winter Break.

12/25/19 (Wed)

Christmas Day

Christian

During Winter Break.

3/20/20 (Fri)

Naw-Ruz (Baha’i New Year)

Baha’i

SD

4/12/20 (Sun)

Easter

Christian

 

4/23/20 (Thurs) to 5/23/20 (Sat)

Ramadan

Islamic

*Dates not fixed, but often stay within 1 to 2 days of the dates listed.

4/28/20 (Tues)

Ninth Day of the Rivdan Festival

Baha’i

SD

5/1/20 (Fri)

Twelfth Day of the Rivdan Festival

Baha’i

SD

5/24/20 (Sun)

 

Eid al-Fitr (end of Ramadan)

 

Islamic

SD
*Date not fixed, but often stays within 1 to 2 days of the date listed.

5/23/20 (Sat)

Declaration of the Bab

Baha’i

SD

5/28/20 (Thurs)

Ascension of Baha’u’llah

Baha’i

SD

Days of Fasting

Please be sensitive to and accommodate student observers’ needs due to fasting on all of the dates and the evening prior to the date listed if it is marked as SD.

This chart is representative of the Christian, Orthodox, Hindu, Jewish, Islamic, Baha’i, Buddhist, Sikh, and Neo Pagan religions.

Date

Observance Name

Religion

Notes

9/2/19 (Mon)

Ganesh Chaturthi

Hindu

SD

9/10/19 (Tues)

Ashura

Islamic

SD

10/9/19 (Wed)

Yom Kippur

Jewish

SD

2/21/20 (Fri)

Maha Shivaratri

Hindu

 

3/1/20 (Sun) to 3/19/20 (Thurs)

The Baha’i Fast

Baha’i

SD

3/20/20 (Fri)

Naw-Ruz (Baha’i New Year)

Baha’i

SD

4/23/20 (Thurs) to 5/23/20 (Sat)

Ramadan

Islamic

*Dates not fixed, but often stay within 1 to 2 days of the dates listed.

 

Cultural Observances

Native American Heritage Month

In honor of what is nationally recognized as Native Heritage Month during the month of November, we wanted to share resources to recognize and celebrate Indigenous heritage and discuss Thanksgiving in a culturally sensitive way.

Coast Salish carved comb. On one side a four-legged animal is shown with a clear profile

Before Columbus came to the Americas, millions of Indigenous peoples lived on the land; the Americas were not discovered, but rather stumbled across, occupied, and colonized.

Mexican folk dance performance with traditional white dress

Each year, the U.S. observes National Hispanic and Latinx Heritage Month, from September 15 to October 15, by celebrating the histories, cultures, and contributions of Hispanic and Latinx peoples from Spain, Mexico, the Caribbean, Central America, and South America.