Northshore's School Board recognized as "Board of Distinction" by WSSDA

Northshore's School Board recognized as "Board of Distinction" by WSSDA
Northshore School Board Directors

From left to right: Superintendent Reid, Director Cogan, Director Hayes, Director Cast, Director McGourty, Director Swain

For the second consecutive year, the Northshore School District School Board has been selected to receive a Board of Distinction award by the Washington State School Directors’ Association.

The Boards of Distinction recognition program awards school boards that demonstrate alignment with the Washington school board standards.

Judges for the WSSDA rated school boards based on the decisions the board made, the evidence of the results, and how the evidence fits the state’s standards. 

Northshore School Board President Sandy Hayes said the award is a recognition of the Board’s belief of putting students first.

"We are honored to receive this award. The incredible amount of effort that all of us put into this work makes it nice to be recognized,” Hayes said. “However, even without this award, we would continue to bring our passion to equity and excellence for all of our students."  

The winners of the Board of Distinction award and the Boards of the Year will be announced at a ceremony on Nov. 15.



District News



Interim Superintendent's Blog