Start Time Task Force

The Northshore School District Board of Directors has reviewed the issue of school start times a number of times since 2008. In January of 2015, the School Board adopted Resolution 714. The resolution directs a high school start time of no earlier than 8 a.m. by the 2017-18 school year for implementation in conjunction with the opening of North Creek High School, grade reconfiguration and associated boundary adjustments. Resolution 714 also directed consideration of intermediate steps prior to the 2017-18 school year that may provide some levels of relief to current high school start time. The School Board directed the formation of a task force to guide implementation of Resolution 714.

 

Responsibility

The task force is responsible for facilitating and implementing Northshore School District Board Resolution 714 including:

  • Intermediate steps that may provide some relief to current high school start times earlier than the 2017-18 school year;
  • A high school start time of no earlier than 8 a.m. by the 2017-18 school year in conjunction with the opening of North Creek High School, grade reconfiguration and associated boundary adjustments;
  • A high school start time of no earlier than 8 a.m. by the 2017-18 school year as the primary driver of program and service levels that determine the district transportation system as plans are developed and implemented around the opening of North Creek High School, grade reconfiguration and associated boundary adjustments; and
  • Adherence to start/dismissal time, program/service levels and fiscal parameters established by and/or acceptable to the School Board.

 

Meeting Schedule

The task force members will serve through 2017-18, meeting regularly (two times monthly or more) during the school year. 

 

Task Force Membership

There are 21 people, excluding the facilitator and ex-officio participants, on the task force, which includes representation from parents, district staff, one student and a community member. The parent/community member positions are voluntary, appointed by the School Board.

View Members

Facilitator
Spencer Welch

Administrative Assistant
Vanessa Blake
Deputy Superintendent's Office
425.408.7624
vblake@nsd.org

Chris Bigelow
Director, Student Services
425.408.7726
cbigelow@nsd.org

Shelby Reynolds
Manager, Instructional Technology
425.408.7755
sreynolds@nsd.org

Bob Stewart Principal
Bothell High School
425.408.7005
bstewart@nsd.org

Dawn Mark Principal
Skyview Junior High School
425.408.6805
dmark@nsd.org

Sarah White
Principal, Bear Creek Elementary School
425.408.4105
swhite@nsd.org

Bryan McNiel
Counselor, Inglemoor High School
425.408.7221
bmcniel@nsd.org

Monica McAuliffe
Teacher, Sorenson Early Childhood Center
425.408.5596
mmcauliffe@nsd.org

Kristina Saunders
Teacher, Kokanee Elementary School
425.408.4973
ksaunders@nsd.org

Shannon Korner
Teacher, Kenmore Junior High School
425.408.6438
skorner@nsd.org

Yonni Mills
Teacher, Bothell High School
425.408.7015
ymills@nsd.org

Susan Rembold
Driver Trainer, Transportation
425.408.7916
srembold@nsd.org

Linda Frisch
Bus Driver, Transportation
lfrisch@nsd.org

Parent/Community Members/Student:

  • Anna Adams
  • Nancy Chamberlain
  • Marci Cheesebrough
  • Paul Cowles
  • Nicolas Duchastel de Montrouge
  • Grace Jurado
  • Erin Person
  • Sheryl Wilkins
  • Edward Yang

Carolyn O'Keeffe
Deputy Superintendent
425.408.7624
cokeeffe@nsd.org

Ryan Fujiwara
Executive Director, Support Services
425.408.7802
rfujiwara@nsd.org

Other District Staff as Requested