Secondary Sports Task Force

The Secondary Sports Task Force (SSTF) was created in 2012. Its original mission was to:

  • Analyze the past two seasons of high school football and upcoming high school basketball season to determine positives/challenges of these two sports being high school only sports for 9th-graders
  • Determine next steps and potential transition plan for junior high sports
  • Submit the transition plan to the School Board for review in March/April 2013
  • Review Title IX compliance

The task force developed a four-year transition plan, using the following criteria to make the decision of when each sport would move to the high school:

  • Cost (addition of coaches, uniforms, transportation)
  • Facilities (are there enough fields, courts and gym space to make the move)
  • Ease of transition to the high school

The task force only makes recommendations, it does not make decisions. It consists of 12 members. The parent/community members are appointed by the superintendent through an application process.

Meeting Schedule 

The SSTF meets three times a year, once during each sports season.

Committee Members 

Chris Bigelow   Heather Miller   Vicki Sherwood   Lance Gatter 
Russell Monsef   Bret Geller   Yonni Mills   Derek Tucci 
Terry Agnew   David Brook   Ken Hungerford   David Allemeier 
Marlie Davis   

Contact Us

Director of Equity and Diversity
Chris Bigelow 

Student Services Specialist
Cathy Barela